Week 0 – Intentions

  1. What is your intention for this course (why are you here)?

I am fascinated by the ideas behind MOOCs and I want to catch a glimpse of where education is headed online.  I teach expository writing online for a community college, creating all of my own course work, etc., using Sakai (Laulima).  I find the tools helpful but limited and often glitchy.  I hope this experience helps me understand the online learning experience as a student and its potential for motivating students to create and explore.

  1. What issues do you think are important?

I am interested in the idea of re-purposing and re-mixing and having students make their own connections.  I also like the idea of breaking open access to free education — Where could this lead for college students as well as K-12?

  1. How will I contribute?

I have to see.  I suppose I may be asking a lot of questions.  😉

  1. How would you like to see community develop among participants?

I’m not sure what this is asking, so I’ll say I hope we see each other as resources and stay in contact afterwards if we make a neat connection with other like-minded educators.

  1. These types of courses are new for most people. In fact about 90% don’t even participate. How will you overcome the fear of learning in the open and the frustration of using new technology? How do you plan to courageously work through any setbacks, and not give up?

I watch my online students do this every day.  They are remarkably resilient.  I’ll try to model their behavior!  Learning in the open is odd for me, but increasingly more and more comfortable.    I had one other experience with “learning in the open” and supervisors were present and somewhat participating (lurking?)… Now that was odd!

 

3 thoughts on “Week 0 – Intentions

  1. Hi. The idea of ‘breaking open access to free education’ is very appealing but as long as there are teachers there is a cost and somewhere someone has to pay – who pays is where the politics comes in so I won’t go there!
    I think that connectivist MOOCs like this one have great potential for professional development and the sorts of people who seem to be taking part, but I’m not sure how well this sort of format would work for an undergraduate course for example. Most of the MOOCs that have been run by universities for undergrads seem to have been of the xMOOC variety with more structure and testing and less reliance on networking.
    I will be interested to hear what sort of online teaching different participants are doing because I think there’s quite a range.

  2. What an awesome response to the last question – model your online students’ behavior. What would our education system look like if we were openly learning alongside of our students?

  3. Hi Dean, yes, there is more to online courses than just using the walled-in Laulima. Learning should be open and we can learn much more out in the open than just from a single class. That’s why MOOCs are so great because we have a very large community of individuals of different backgrounds, experiences, etc. We will definitely get a variety of perspectives and also see what things, issues, and ideas, we have in common.

Leave a Reply

